Pork with Tengamora/ Gongura/ Roselle Leaves

This is another one of my Assamese recipes where I have used Tengamora leaves to make a simple light pork curry. In Assam, where there is huge consumption of meat and fish on a daily basis, we like to include all kinds of veggies in our non vegetarian curries. This helps in keeping the balance in our food habits. The leaves I have used is called Tengamora in Assamese, Gongura in the South, Khatta Saag in the North or Roselle leaves. It is sour and full of flavor.

I remember one day, one of my cousins had made this for lunch; it was my first time having it and I just couldn’t stop eating. It was that good! Ever since, I keep craving for this recipe every now and then.

So, onto the ingredients, I have used the following ingredients:

Pork – 500 gms, boneless, medium sized pieces (boiled)

Tengamora leaves – 2 handfuls

Ginger & Garlic – 1 tbs, roughly ground

Onions – 1 1/2 medium, thinly sliced

Turmeric – 1/2 tsps

Roasted Jeera Powder – 1/2 tsp

Fresh Chillies – 2-3 chopped/sliced, as per your preference on the spice level

Lard (pork fat oil)/mustard oil – 2 tbs

Salt as per taste

Note: I have used the pork fat oil that came out of the pork as it has all the beautiful flavor but you can use mustard oil as well.

Instructions:

Add the lard or oil and let it heat up and add the onions. Fry till it soften and starts turning brown and add the chillies.

Then, add in the pork, ginger and garlic. Fry for a minute and add the turmeric, salt, roasted jeera powder. Fry again for 2-3 minutes.

IMG_20170603_132719780

After frying, add the leaves as they are and put the lid on.

IMG_20170603_132903159

After 4-5 minutes, take off the lid and stir it around to mix up all the ingredients well.

IMG_20170603_134259834

If you want more curry, you can add some warm water accordingly as I did. Remember, this is supposed to be a light curry and not a thick one.

IMG_20170603_134712180

I find it best with rice but I’m sure this recipe would go really well with noodles as well. Let me know how your attempt at it goes!

IMG_20170603_135657198

Leave a Reply

