The Ceramic Streets of Gurgaon & Delhi

Flower Pots
Flower Pots

The first thing I noticed when I moved to Gurgaon were these beautiful ceramic flower pots and it filled me with nostalgia. I remembered that when I was kid my Aunt’s used to have these pots placed in the corner of the living room. I was hooked then and there.

The collection of these amazing designs on pots doesn’t just end there. They have a whole lot of decorative pieces, beautifully color coordinated. Luckily, there is a whole street really close to my place full of these artistic beauties, so I tend to back again and again…and again.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And then again, that’s not it, they have these whole range of oil burners of all sizes – candle version and also the electric ones (take your pick), bathroom accessories, crockery, etc. Honestly, I go ballistic in this place, jumping from one seller to another trying to negotiate (I don’t really have bargaining skills but hey, trying doesn’t hurt). But since they are already so cheap, I am not bothered much by the prices either. I buy all my crockery which I use to plate my home cooked recipes too.

IMG_20170326_122957034_HDRIMG_20170326_122950632IMG_20170326_122220946

So, where do they get such exquisite items from? I found out that there this place called Khurja, a few hours from Delhi. It is famously known as The Ceramic City and the hub where all these beauties are manufactured.

So, if you happen to have some love towards decor and in Delhi, you’ve got to come and have a look and maybe even take a trip to one of these factories too. Trust me, you won’t go empty handed!

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

